Ysgol Aberconwy's Virtual Learning EnvironmentLike Ysgol Aberconwy on FacebookFollow Ysgol Aberconwy on Twitter      

Welsh Baccalaureate


Welsh Baccalaureate is a compulsory qualification across key stage 4 in Wales.

The central focus of the Welsh Baccalaureate is to provide a vehicle for 14-16 year olds to consolidate and develop essential and employability skills. The Welsh Baccalaureate qualification is based on a Skills Challenge Certificate alongside Supporting Qualifications.

The qualification comprises of four components, all of which are assessed on a pass, merit or distinction basis, through portfolio work. Details of each component will be given to you when you undertake each assignment. You will be taught through a variety of activities aimed to help you develop a range of transferable skills. The skills you will develop are:

  • Literacy
  • Numeracy
  • Digital Literacy
  • Critical Thinking and Problem Solving
  • Planning and Organisation
  • Creativity and Innovation
  • Personal Effectiveness

These will be assessed through the completion of four challenges. Each challenge will contribute to the Skills Challenge Certificate

  • Individual Project – 50%
  • Enterprise and Employability Challenge – 20%
  • Global Citizenship Challenge – 15%
  • Community Challenge – 15%

For more information regarding this course, please see our KS4 information booklet here.